Black Falcon will launch an expanded attack on the Blancpain GT Series this season as the Mercedes-AMG squad seeks to build on a stellar 2018 campaign.

The German outfit clinched the teams’ and drivers’ titles in the Endurance Cup last term with Maro Engel, Luca Stolz and Yelmer Buurman at the wheel of the #4 machine. The sister #6 Mercedes-AMG also came close to sealing the Silver Cup championship, only for technical problems to scupper its bid during the season-ending race.

The team has now confirmed that both cars will return for the season ahead, with five of the six drivers who competed for Black Falcon last year remaining on board.

The #4 will undertake an expanded Pro class programme in 2019. As well as defending the Endurance Cup title, the crew will contend for Blancpain GT World Challenge Europe honours, marking Black Falcon’s first full-time participation in the category formerly known as the Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup.

Engel and Stolz will compete at all 10 rounds this season, with Buurman joining for the five Endurance events. As such, the German duo will be in contention for the overall Blancpain GT Series title this term.

The #6 Silver Cup machine will once again tackle Endurance events, with Hubert Haupt and Abdulaziz Al Faisal both returning for another crack at the class title. They will be joined by Black Falcon newcomer Patrick Assenheimer. The 26-year-old German returns to the Endurance Cup after a year’s absence, having previously driven for the HTP squad in 2017.

Black Falcon is the latest leading outfit to confirm a full-season Blancpain GT Series programme for 2019. During last week’s official test days, Sainteloc Racing announced that it will once again field two full-time cars this term, with Audi factory drivers Markus Winkelhock and Christopher Haase set to spearhead the effort.

Lamborghini outfits Grasser Racing and FFF Racing have also firmed up plans to contest the full season in the Pro class. They join defending champions AKKA ASP Team, Belgian Audi Club Team WRT, R-Motorsport and Attempto Racing, all of which will chase the overall title in 2019.