#81 DragonSpeed USA ORECA LMP2 07, LMP2: Ben Hanley, Henrik Hedman, Colin Braun, Harrison Newey, podium, champagne

DragonSpeed, the LMP2 class-winners at this year’s Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona, have announced they will enter the upcoming Lone Star Le Mans – round 5 of FIA WEC Season 8 at the Circuit of The Americas in Austin later this month (22-23 February).

The Elton-Julian led, Florida-based team brings the highly competitive LMP2 entry list up to nine – the biggest number in the class so far this season.

European Le Mans Series Round 2, Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Italy. Image: John Stevens for JellyBaby.Media

Driving the #21 DragonSpeed ORECA 07 entry will be Sweden’s Henrik Hedman, Great Britain’s Ben Hanley and Texan-born Colin Braun – a two-time IMSA Champion (2014 and 2015) who will be a firm favourite with the home fans. Hanley was originally set to drive a Ginetta LMP1 in the COTA race until Team LNT withdrew its two cars.

The loss of the two Ginettas enabled DragonSpeed to join the grid after a free garage spot became available.

DragonSpeed was, of course, a regular competitor in both the WEC Super Season of 2018-2019 and the European Le Mans Series.