2016 World Endurance Championship. Banbury, England Ford GT Launch. 5th January 2016. Photo: Drew Gibson.

Image credit: Ford Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ford Chip Ganassi Racing announced the driver line-up for the two FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) Ford GTs on Tuesday 6th January. The first driver to be announced for the WEC squad was endurance-specialist, Marino Franchitti.

For Marino Franchitti being a racing driver is part of his DNA. The Scottish racer began his career behind the wheel at the age of eight and has gone on to win some of the biggest events in sportscar racing.  2016 will be Marino’s first year in the FIA World Endurance Championship but not his first time at Le Mans as he has raced there on five occasions.

Here Marino introduces himself and looks forwards to the 2016 WEC Season, “It was love at first sight! The first time I drove it I didn’t want to get out of the car.”



•    Class winner at the Nürburgring (Nordschleife) Qualifying race and 24 Hour race – Glickenhaus Racing


•    Sebring 12 Hour winner – Overall winner, Chip Ganassi Racing-Ford

•    Daytona 24 Hours – Sixth place overall, Chip Ganassi Racing-Ford


•    American Le Mans Series Champion with five race wins – LMP2, Level 5 Racing

•    Sebring 12 Hour winner – LMP2, Level 5 Racing

•    Winner of Petit Le Mans – LMP2, Level 5 Racing

•    Le Mans 24 Hours – LMP2, Level 5 Racing


•    Race and Development driver for the Nissan DeltaWing which included Le Mans 24 hours

•    Signed to be LMP1 Peugeot Factory driver in 2012 (program subsequently cancelled)

•    Winner- Mid Ohio ALMS LMPC


•    Second place overall at Sebring 12 Hour – Honda LMP1


•    American Le Mans Series Champion – LMP2 (top class) with Patron Highcroft Racing

•    Winner of Petit Le Mans – LMP2, Patron Highcroft Racing

•    Le Mans 24 Hours in Highcroft Racing HPD LMP2

•    Sebring 12 Hours Pole Position and second in class – Highcroft Racing HPD LMP2


•    Winner of Petit Le Mans – LMP2, Dyson Racing Lola-Mazda

•    Runner-up in American Le Mans Series LMP2 class with three race wins – Dyson Racing

•    Le Mans 24 Hours in Drayson Racing Aston Martin V8 Vantage


•    Winner at the Nürburgring Nordschleife – VLN overall winner, Hisaq Racing 

•    American Le Mans Series with Dyson Racing- Porsche RS Spyder LMP2

•    Second place overall in Sebring 12 Hours


•    American Le Mans Series for Andretti Green Racing – Acura LMP2


•    Second place in GT2 class at Petit Le Mans – Ferrari 430

•    FIA GT Championship in a Ferrari 430 – Third place at Spa 24 Hours, winner at Adria.


•    Le Mans 24 Hours in Panoz Esperante


•    Sebring 12 Hours – LMP675 Lola Nissan – Pole position


•    Le Mans 1000km – 4th in class in a Ferrari 360 GT


•    Grand-Am Championship – LMP 675 Lola-Nissan – Took part in four races, with one win and three further podiums


•    British GTO Champion in Porsche GT3 RS with eight race wins – Factory Porsche driver for Porsche Cars GB 


•    British Formula Ford Championship