Sebastien Buemi lead from start to finish to claim his third victory of season, meaning the Swiss driver is firmly in the championship hunt.

Buemi’s win along with Nico Prost’s seventh place means e-Dams Renault were crowned the inaugural Formula E teams champions.

The race started behind the safety car after a bump at turn one, lead to a change in track layout, leading to the stewards deeming it was two dangerous to run two abreast into the first corner.

Due to the safety car start the opening laps lacked any action with Buemi streaking away from Jerome D’ambrosio in second.

With the top two opening a gap championship leader Nelson Piquet Jr had his eye’s on third place, but Lucas di Grassi was determined to stop his fellow countryman and long term rival from securing the final podium position.

On lap 5 Piquet made his move, using his fan boost he moved to the outside of di Grassi into the turn 11-12 chicane, but the the the two rubbed wheels with di Grassi coming off the best.

The move left Piquet in clutches of Jean-Eric Vergne, the Andretti driver made his move round the outside of the long sweeping turn 13, outbreaking Piquet into the tight turn 14-15 chicane.

Vergne was able to close the gap on di Grassi throughout the rest of the stint, setting fastest lap after fastest lap, he was then able to jump di Grassi in the pits stops.

After all cars had pitted, Daniel Abt brought out the safety car after locking up at the final corner and running straight on into the barrier.

Once the safety car came in di Grassi came under pressure from Piquet once again. The two would make contact, this time Piquet hitting di Grassi up the rear, for the second time Piquet would suffer, not being able to challenge di Grassi again.

The top five would remain unchanged meaning Piquet has a five point leading heading into Sundays final race. Di Grassi is the only other driver with a mathematical chance of the championship, the Audi Sport Abt driver is 13 points behind.

Behind the top five Sam Bird managed to make his way up from 9th on the grid to secure 6th overall, he was closely followed home Nico Prost.

Loic Duval lead home Oliver Turvey on his Formula E debut while Stephane Sarrazin rounded out the top ten.

Charlie Price –