Image credit: FIA Formula-e.

Sebastien Buemi dominated the first ever Monaco ePrix to claim his second win of the season. 

Despite Buemi becoming the only driver to win two race’s this season it is still Lucas di Grassi who leads the championship after a solid second place, beating fellow Brazilian Nelson Piquet Jr.

While Buemi dominated from green flag, their was carnage behind with a multi car accident on the run out of Saint Devote, with Bruno Senna and Jamie Alguersuari both retiring. Senna was lucky not to get hurt, his car shooting over the back of Daniel Abt’s car.

Along with Abt, Loic Duval, Salvador Duran and Jean-Eric Vergne where also majorly delayed by the incident.

Nelson Piquet Jr was the only driver to take advantage of the re-start on lap 4, using his fan boost to pass Jerome D’Ambrosio down the inside of the harbour-front chicane.

Buemi and di Grassi pulled out a gap over Piquet, before di Grassi pitted on lap 24 attempting to undercut Buemi.

When Buemi eventually pitted two laps later he came out side by side with di Grassi and despite having colder tyres and brakes, Buemi was able to hold off the championship leader.

The Swiss driver didn’t come under attack from di Grassi for the remainder of the race, meaning that Buemi now sit’s third in the driver championship with 83 points.

While di Grassi showed early pace in his second stint, the Audi Sport Abt driver was slowly hunted down by Piquet. With 5 laps to go the Piquet made his move but the NEXTEV driver out-braked himself into the harbour chicane. The move cost Piquet another chance to gain second place.

Despite the braking mishap, the Brazilian was able to secure third place from Sam Bird. The Virgin driver who had started from tenth of the grid had made his way up to 4th by the pits stops. During the change of car Bird jumped Jerome D’ambrosio.

D’ambrosio took fifth position meaning he’s now the only driver in the top seven of the championship not to finish a race. Following him home was Frenchmen Nicolas Prost and Stephane Sarrazin.

American F1 refugee Scott Speed took 8th place despite a 33 second time penalty for exceeding maximum power usage and rounding out the top ten was Charles Pic and Antonio Felix Da Costa the latter recovered from a qualifying accident.

Charlie Price