Image credit: FIA.

Lucas di Grassi claimed victory for Abt Audi Sport Formula E team in what was a frantic Putrajaya ePrix.’

The drama came in abundance – the first to suffer a malfunction was Stephan Sarrazin, his Venturi car failing to move from the initial grid formation.

Once the race got under way Sebastien Buemi proceeded to exert his dominance that had been apparent all season, but his lead was eradicated on lap five, when a safety car was called for after Oliver Turvey nosed his NEXTEV TCR 001 into the wall.

At the restart Buemi reinstated his dominance, with Loic Duval, Antonio Felix da Costa, Nico Prost and di Grassi battling it out for third.

While Duval was closing in on Buemi the latter’s team mate Prost, got past da Costa for third.

The Renault e.Dams squad was then hit with a massive chunk of misfortune as race leader Buemi stopped out on track before restarting while Prost was forced to pit early with overheating problems.

Duval lead until he pitted but a slow stop meant he was jumped by both da Costa and di Grassi.

The trio were behind Prost but the early stop would come back to cost the Frenchman who had to do a significant amount of energy saving.

Di Grassi breezed past da Costa and then was on the back of Prost. Di Grassi had no difficulty passing Prost and was straight down inside at turn one.

Da Costa then followed Di Grassi through but da Costa was denied a podium finish when electrical problems started to slow the the Aguri driver.

Prost was back up to second but not for long, as Duval went pass, followed by his Dragon team mate Jerome d’Ambrosio.

Both the two Dragon drivers also hit problems, Duval with a broken damper while d’Ambrosio ran wide at turn seven, leading him to hit the wall and breaking his left rear suspension.

This left Robin Frijns, who had season one technology under his right foot, in second place with Sam Bird in third.

Those positions were to change when Frijns ran wide meaning he had crab home to third place while Bird took second place behind di Grassi who cursed home to take victory.

Charlie Price