_g7c8192Portuguese driver Antonio Felix Da Costa took his maiden Formula E victory for Amlin Aguri in what turned out to be a frantic finish to round 4 in Bueno Aires.

Da Costa was an unlikely victor,  on an afternoon which saw multiple drivers throw away a chance of victory on the streets of Argentina.

Sebastien Buemi, who was fastest in every session, lead a race which was becoming a relatively processional affair. This was until Karun Chandhok’s suppression failed on lap 15 sending his Mahindra into the turn 10 wall.

The incident changed the nature of the race, with Buemi the next to retire hitting the same wall as Chandock ending the e-Dams racers dominant weekend and letting his championship rival di Grassi take the lead.

The Brazilian couldn’t take advantage of this though, becoming the third victim of the turn 10 chicane. The Audi Sport Abt diver suspension giving way, meaning Nick Heidfeld took the lead  from Sam Bird and eventual winner da Costa.

Birds challenged faltered when the Virgin driver was handed a drive through penalty for ignoring the red light at the end of the pit lane, this lead to the Englishman rejoining in 12th.

This meant Heidfeld could pull out a gap over da Costa and Jean-Eric Vergne, before the Venturi drivers hopes of victory were dashed when he was given a drive through, this time for pit lane speeding.

_79p4085Da Costa could then cruise on the final lap with all the action going on for the minor podium places. Jamie Alguersuari and Vergne were caught up in a incident with Daniel Abt, which saw the German out with broken suspension and Alguersuari and Vergne finishing forth and sixth.

This lead to Nico Prost going through to take second place for e-Dams,while Nelson Piquet Jr took a surprise 3rd place, despite the Brazilian thinking he was a lap down.

Bruno Senna completed the top 5, with Sam Bird recovered to finish seventh while setting the fastest lap of the race as well.

Salvador Duran collected his first points in Formula E by finishing eighth,  however, following a post-race investigation the stewards have excluded him from the final classification for exceeding the maximum power usage.

Nick Heidfeld and Oriol Servia took the next to positions to round out the top 10.

The stewards also handed China Racing’s Nelson Piquet a 5-place grid penalty at the next race for speeding under yellow flags and Jarno Trulli will have a 10-place grid penalty for changing his gearbox.

Lucas di Grassi still leads the championship over Briton Sam Bird, but his lead is now cut to 10 points.

We now have a two month wait until Round 5 hits the streets of Miami.

Charlie.Price AT Dervhead.com

All pictures Copyright FIA Formula E