Image credit: FIA Formula e.

Lucas di Grassi has been excluded from the result of the Mexico City ePrix, handing victory to Jerome D’Ambrosio.

Di Grassi’s Abt Schaeffler car that he used for the first part of the race, was found to weigh 886.2kg, 1.8kg under the 888kg minimum. Abt has decided not to appeal the decision.

The decision means di Grassi is now 22 points behind Sebastien Buemi, who is promoted to second place. Nico Prost moves up to third, and the Renault e.dams driver also gains two more points for setting the Visa Fastest Lap after D’Ambrosio’s best effort was removed for being set while cutting a chicane.

Loic Duval remains classified fourth but was handed a 15-second penalty for repeatedly cutting the chicane and then ignoring the black and white flag he was shown for this offence.

Robin Frijns is promoted to fifth, Sam Bird to sixth, Daniel Abt to seventh, Nick Heidfeld to eighth, Stephane Sarrazin to ninth, while Bruno Senna now collects the final point in 10th.

Original Story: Di Grassi Takes Win and Championship Lead

Lucas di Grassi eased to his second victory of the season, meaning he won the inaugural Mexico ePrix and took the lead in the championship.

Di Grassi was joined on the podium by pole sitter Jerome d’Ambrosio and championship rivals Sebastien Buemi, who had a disjointed race.

Despite taking victory by over five seconds di Grassi didn’t have it all his own way, for the first half of the race, d’Ambrosio lead a train that included Nico Prost, di Grassi, Buemi and Daniel Abt.

There was a lack of movement between the top five before the pit stops. The first of two overtakes came when Abt ran wide at the final chicane which leads to Buemi being able to outbreak him into the first corner.

While di Grassi was able to pull off an audacious move on Prost to snatch second place on lap 22, this meant di Grassi was able to show the true pace of his Abt Schaeffler Audi car.

Once the leaders pitted di Grassi got to work on d’Ambrosio, the Brazilian using his fan boost to good effect on the main straight, the Brazilian getting a run out the final corner and then out breaking the Belgium driver into the first corner.

Once in the lead di Grassi never looked back taking victory by 5.416 seconds.

Behind the eventual race winner, the battle for the-the final two podium places was intense. Buemi who had leapfrogged his team-mate, Prost, in the pits was all over d’Ambrosio.

Several attempts were made to pass the Dragon driver cleanly but none were successful. This was before Buemi rear-ended d’Ambrosio’s car, causing damage to both cars.

Several laps later Buemi tried again, this time avoiding contact but straight-lining the chicane, meaning the Swiss driver was forced to give the position back.

The attempt by Buemi to give the position back caused chaos for Prost, Abt and Loic Duval. With Buemi slowing Prost was able to close the gap to d’Ambrosio in doing so making contact.

Once they settled down into formation again Buemi continued to push but was unable to get passed – d’Ambrosio holding on by 0.106’s.

Prost was on course to follow his team mate home in forth until he received a drive-through penalty for an unsafe release which promoted to Abt to forth.

Abt then through fourth position away on the penultimate lap when he crashed within the baseball loop, the German eventually finishing in eighth position.

Abt’s crash promoted Duval to fourth ahead of a recovering Prost who managed to selvedge fifth after his drive through penalty.

Behind the top five Robin Frijns brought home his Amlin Aguri car in sixth ahead of round three winner Sam Bird.

The top ten was then rounded out by Nick Heidfeld and Stephane Sarrazin.

Charlie Price