Image credit:

Following the move by the Automobile Club de l’Ouest to bring the Asian Le Mans Series back ‘in house’ Sportscar365 have reported that the ACO have now confirmed the schedule for this year’s newly restructured Series, which will see a reduced three-round season.

As reported: The 2015 championship will be run during the FIA World Endurance Championship weekends at Fuji (Japan) and Shanghai (China) before closing out the season with a standalone event at Sepang on Dec. 19-20.

The Malaysian round comes just two weeks following the Sepang 12 Hours, which has come under the SRO umbrella for 2015.

The series will accept a wider range of car categories in 2015 as the newly launched LMP3s will join the LM P2s, CNs and GTs.

Invitations for the 2016 Le Mans 24 Hours will be awarded to the winner in LMP2, the winner in LMP3 (provided that at least three LMP3s race in the 2015 championship) and one or two GTs depending upon the number of LM P3s entered.

At least five rounds are planned for 2016, as part of the ACO’s restructuring plan that has see the Le Mans organizers take over full control of the championship from Shanghai-based S2M Group, which had run it for the previous two years.

Details on the race format, or new executive structure, has yet to be announced.

2015 Asian Le Mans Series Schedule

October 9-10  —Fuji Speedway (Supporting the FIA WEC)
October 30-31 — Shanghai (Supporting the FIA WEC)
December 19-20 — Sepang