Image credit: Speedcafe.

Will Davidson claimed a shock victory for Erebus Motorsport, denying Craig Lowndes a historic 100th win at Barbagallo Raceway.

Davidson, who started from seventh on the grid made his way through the field once the safety car, caused by his team mate Ash Walsh, came in on lap 52.

Before the safety car was called the race had been dominated by the two Prodrive Ford’s of Mark Winterbottom and Chaz Mostert. Ultimately both their race’s were ruined by the safety car, their tyre strategy causing the two to drop down the order.

With both Prodrive cars struggling Lowndes was in the position to make history, once past Mostert Lowndes started to pull away from the rest of the field. With ten laps left the Red Bull driver started to struggle on his soft tyres meaning Davidson could catch Lowndes with ease.

Davidson made his move with four laps to go, sliding his Erebus Mercedes down the inside at turn six. Davidson went on to take the victory by five seconds, his first since Townsville in 2013.

Alongside Davidson and Lowndes on the podium was Fabian Coulthard. The Freightliner Racing driver came from the back of the grid to secure the final podium place.

Despite degrading tyres Mostert was able to hold off both the Holden Racing drivers of James Courtney and Garth Tander for forth.

James Moffat finished the highest of the Nissan’s in seventh, while Nick Percat had his highest finish of the season in eighth.

David Reynolds, who was running as high as third, dropped down to ninth due to high tyre wear on his Ford Falcon. Rounding out the top ten was the second Nissan of Michael Caruso.

Reigning champion Jamie Whincup had another awful race, after outbreaking himself on lap three and running wide Whincup struggled throughout eventually finishing 19th.

Charlie Price